HTML Module

Management Team

ProPay was established in April of 1997. After struggling through its first few years, ProPay was led into sustainable profitability by co-founder Steve Houghton, Brad Hansen, Gary Goodrich, and Chris Jensen. In December of 2012, ProPay was acquired by Total Systems Services (TSYS). ProPay is now a TSYS company operating as a wholly owned subsidiary.

Dave Duncan – President

Dave DuncanMr. Duncan has over 15 years of experience in the payments industry. He joined TSYS in 1997 and was General Manager of TSYS Brazil prior to accepting the assignment of Chief Operations Officer with ProPay. Duncan played a central role in TSYS’ successful expansion into Japan and China and in TSYS’ entry into direct merchant acquiring in the US.  He has extensive international experience in Asia, North America, Europe and Latin America. He received a bachelor of science in marketing from the University of Colorado and a master’s degree in international management from Thunderbird School of Global Management.


Ryan Oakes – Chief Operating Officer

Mr. Oakes joined ProPay in 2005 as Vice President of Product Management, where he focused on maximizing the value of existing products and developing new and innovative products. He was also responsible for ProPay’s international expansion efforts and shift in focus to mobile products. In 2012, he played a key role as part of the Executive team involved in the acquisition of ProPay by TSYS. Ryan began his career with Deloitte in Los Angeles with the Assurance and Advisory Services Group, focusing on Technology and Financial Services. He has also worked in the venture capital industry with Pelion Venture Partners. He has over 15 years of experience specializing in technology driven financial services.Ryan graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting from the University of Utah, and an MBA from Brigham Young University. He is a Certified Public Accountant licensed in the states of California and Utah.


Mark Johnson – Chief Information Officer

Mark JohnsonMr. Johnson has over 25 years experience in the information technology industry. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from Idaho State University and a Masters degree in Business Administration from the University of Phoenix. His vast experience includes software development of financial systems for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Director of Computer Science for Phillips Junior College, Director of Technology Operations for FranklinCovey Corp., and Senior Vice President of Information Technology and Security Officer for Merrick Bank, one of the nation’s top 25 issuing and acquiring banks. He has also held consultant positions in project management for ADP Corp., and for the State of Utah. He has also served in the United States Air Force as a statistician where he earned the Air Force Commendation Medal.


Mike Cottrell – Director, Sales and Marketing

Mike CottrellMr. Cottrell has over 20 years of experience in the payments industry. Prior to joining ProPay in 2014, he was Chief Business Development Officer for TriSource Solutions where he was responsible for leading product and the agent and ISO programs. Additionally, Mike served as Senior Vice President Market Strategies for Vital Processing Services (now TSYS Acquiring) as well as other marketing and product roles at Vital. He has a bachelor's degree in business information systems and an MBA in International Management from Thunderbird School of Global Management.


Thomas Hortin – Chief Financial Officer

Mike CottrellMr. Hortin joined ProPay in 2007. He has over 14 years experience in Finance and Accounting. He is currently responsible for leading the Finance & Accounting Department. He began his career working for Banta Corporation before joining ProPay. Tom graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting from Utah Valley University.